Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nikon SB-28 fires only at the second frame

Nikon SB-28 fires only at the second frame

Dear all,

I'm a camera trap newbie and just bought me some material to create a DSLR camera trap:

Pelican Housing
    Nikon D5500
    Nikon AF 20 mm D 2.8 lens
    2 Nikon SB-28
    Pixel TF-322
    PC Sync cable
    Trailmaster TM-550

The whole setup is working except for the Nikon SB-28, i set them to standby mode but when the trailmaster triggers the camera the SB-28 wakes up at the first frame and fires only at the second frame. I haven't found out yet, how to solve this problem. When i put the Nikon SB-28 on the Nikon D5500 directly it fires at the first frame, and also when i put the Pixel TF-322 on the hotshoe. I guess the problem must be between Pixel - PC Sync cable and Nikon Flash. Is it possible that this scenario doesn't work with the PC Sync cable ? Only with the Nikon SC-26. Do i need some other Hot Shoe Adapter ?
    Does anyone have this setup with Pixel TF-322, PC Sync cable and Nikon SB-28 ?

Thank you very much for your feedback.

kind regards

Lars

Hi.....welcome to the forum.

The SB28 and other SB series of Nikon flashes make wonderful camera trap flashes. The sleep mode and quick wake up make it a natural for camera trapping.

There are two ways to remotely wake a SB28. One is with the PC port in the flash. The problem with this method is the first flash trigger wakes the flash and the second triggers the flash. Not exactly ideal for camera trapping. You either end up with a shot of the animal looking at the camera or the backside of the animal as it was spooked by the noise of the camera shutter.