Thread: Adding wireless capability to the snapshot sniper II

Adding wireless capability to the snapshot sniper II

Hi,

I'm new to the world of custom camera trapping. I just finished building my first trap using a Snapshot Sniper as the motion detector. Right now it works fine for my use case in France, but I'm moving to French Guiana and with the way higher level of humidity there, I would like to make the build as waterproof as possible. And thus, I would like to get rid of the mini jack cable between the camera and the motion detector.

Does anyone know how if it is possible/how to make the trigger signal from the Snapshot sniper wireless ?

Thanks !

There are many wireless remote modules like this out there. The price is around US$2.50 and available many places on the internet.

20220821121820-2b8091a3-me.jpg

This one will provide a open collector pull to ground to trigger your shutter when the Snapshot Sniper detects motion. The transmitter will run a long time on a couple AA batteries. The receiver draws a bit more current since it is on all the time, so you will need a few more batteries depending on how long you want it to run.

Thanks Jeff ! This exactly what I was looking for. I knew something like that existed, but I have zero knowledge with electronics so my researches yielded no result =)

I would like it to run for at least two weeks, ideally 4. Do you know how many batteries that would require ?

Thanks again !

Quote Originally Posted by Warks View Post
    Thanks Jeff ! This exactly what I was looking for. I knew something like that existed, but I have zero knowledge with electronics so my researches yielded no result =)

I would like it to run for at least two weeks, ideally 4. Do you know how many batteries that would require ?

Thanks again !