Thread: Badgers & Foxes in the UK

Badgers & Foxes in the UK

Hello,
    I am a keen amateur nature photographer and I happen to live in the beautiful British countryside where badgers and foxes are rife, as witnessed by the infrared photos I took with my trail camera. Not satisfied, I decided to build a DIY camera case for wildlife photography with my Pentax K10D DSLR.
    You can buy ready DSLR cases, but my aim was to match quality with economy.

As regards cases, Pelican is the brand most in fashion for this genre of photography; however, I thought that PANARO MAX235H155 (IP67 waterproof) would suit me perfectly for 1/5 of the price. To support the camera inside, I needed a tripod, small but steady. Or actually 2 tripods: one inside the case and one outside.
    My choice was: 1) SmallRig BUT2664 tabletop mini tripod and 2) MANFROTTO 496RC2 Compact Ball Head combined: head of the SmallRig inside; Manfrotto ball head supporting the case screwed on the legs of the SmallRig outside.
    RC2 Quick Release Plate is to be screwed outside on the base of the case to be locked onto the Manfrotto Ball Head and to keep the case steady and upright. One 3/8" hole through the base of the case: outside you have the RC2 Quick Release Plate screwed to the SmallRig BUT2664 head.

Then you have to think what DSLR you are going to use, and draw a map inside of where the lens is going to be: in my case it is a Pentax K10D with a 24mm or 28mm Pentax lens. I used Wolfcraft 86mm diameter Hole Saw connected to my drill to make the big hole for the lens, diameter 86mm. I glued an inexpensive 86 mm UV filter with silicon from the outside. I also made a hole with 1" diameter for the motion sensor.